PolarTREC News

Explore with Weddell Seals

Alex Eilers in Antarctica

Alex Eilers is back with her team in Antarctica studying the Weddell seals. They are gathering lots of information on the seals to understanding their body conditions throughout the year. You can also check out Alex's webpage at antarcticarevisited.com.

Antarctica Rocks!

Brian DuBay in Antarctica

Teacher Brian DuBay is in high demand by his research team. He is still teaching, but is also a full field team member! He is back down to the ice to study the tectonic history of the Transantarctic Mountains.

PolarTREC in the Dry Valleys, Antarctica

Lucy Coleman hiking up Observation Hill.

Lucy Coleman and her team are in the Dry Valleys. At their remote field camp near Lake Joyce they are studying microbialites. Her communications are limited but she has been able to send amazing journals and photos!

Celebrate Antarctica Day! Webinar

Celebrate Antarctica Day!

Participate in a PolarConnect webinar from Antarctica! It's free and easy to participate!
Date: Tuesday, 2 December 2014
Time: 10:00am Alaska Standard Time [11:00am PST, 12:00pm MST, 1:00pm CST, 2:00pm EST]
Alex Eilers is at McMurdo with her team studying Weddell Seals. Join us for a PolarConnect Event celebrating Antarctica Day and learning more about the team's research!

JSEP Applications Open Now

JSEP Flyer

Students Invited to Apply for the Joint Science Education Project (JSEP)
Applications open November 15, 2014 and close January 9, 2015.

The three-week program takes place entirely in Greenland. Participants from the United States, Denmark, and Greenland live and work together while exploring current research and completing their own inquiry-based investigations.

New Climate Change Lessons

Two Views of Climate Change

PolarTREC hosted a 4-day field course for teachers on climate change in Denali National Park. Participants created lessons that are now available in PolarTREC Resources - Search Keyword "Climate Change" to find the five lessons. Check out this featured lesson combining art and change with repeat photography.

Call for Abstracts

NSTA Logo

Share Your Good Ideas!
Don't delay and submit a session proposal for the NSTA 2015 STEM Forum & Expo.
NSTA is now accepting proposals for the STEM Forum & Expo in Minneapolis, May 20­23, 2015. The deadline for submissions is: Monday, December 1, 2014.
Click here for more information and to submit a proposal.
Questions? Email: lcrossley [at] nsta [dot] org

Follow PolarTREC Teacher on FB & Twitter

Dominque on FB

Look who is getting READY FOR ANTARCTICA! Follow Dominique Richardson on PolarTREC. Her expedition can be followed on PolarTREC as well as on FaceBook here and @EastAntarctica on Twitter!

Featured Video

Latest Journal

Happy Thanksgiving
This journal is brought to you by... This journal is brought to you by… Ms. Finney’s SPED...

Latest Comments

That is fantastic!!! Please tell Daniel I'm thrilled he is following my adventure and there's more to come! Best, Ms. Alex ________________________________________
Thanks for the question Rick! I'm actually not sure how long these ice caves last - but apparently this one has been there for quite some time. Don't know if you noticed the 'stairs...
Hey Alex, how long do those ice caves last? Will the same one be there a year from now or can it be gone in a day? Im loving checking up on you and miss you! -Rick

From YouTube

Recent Resource

Article
14 August 2014
Article about PolarTREC teacher Alex Eilers’ return expedition to study Weddell seals in the Ross Sea.